Returning to Jamaica

Something about finding the commonalities and the differences make the distance seem so minuscule.

Before I fill you in on my love for Jamaica, let me fill you in on a little about myself. My name is Toby Rose. I’m 27, and I grew up in a small country town in Maine. Everyone knew everyone, and more people had chickens, than those that didn’t. I always dreamt about traveling as a kid. In fact I remember telling myself, “When I get my license, I’m never going to be home, I’m always going to be traveling with my friends.” Little did I know how much that was true. Weather it be local travel, finding new towns in my home state, or off to see hike a mountain in another. I just love to experience new places, and see new things. I love food, and getting to know other’s ways of life. Something about finding the commonalities and the differences make the distance seem so minuscule. Forming bonds with complete strangers, opens your eyes to whole new perspectives, you never would have even considered before. I’ll fill you in on more of my philosophies later, haha. Let’s talk about Jamaica!


I hadn’t even left Jamaica, my first time, back in 2012, I told myself I would be back. It only took 5 years but I finally made it. 

There’s something infectious about Jamaica, and you catch it as soon as you touch down on that plane. Maybe it’s seeing all the rolling hills, the banana trees, or maybe it’s just the thought, that even on their coldest days, they still do not get snow! 

One of the things that stuck out most to me, was everyone was so friendly, and seemed genuinely happy. I know it’s sounds clichè. But most everyone you meet, working or not, usually has a smile on their face. We all have worries and sorrows. But I guess it’s like one of the many sayings you learn within the time your their, “No worries”. I couldn’t tell you how many times I heard this down there, and it is still incorporated into my everyday life.


Aside from the genuine happiness of the people, the vast gorgeous landscapes. From the hills, to the waterfalls or any of their 120 rivers. 

Both times I have been to Jamaica, I stayed on a resort either in Ochos rios or just before in Runaway Bay. Both requiring an almost two hour drive, let us see a lot of what Jamaicas countryside has to offer. The lush vegetation; palm trees with coconuts, banana trees, mango trees, bread fruit trees, or any of the other multiple varieties of fauna and flora. 


If the people, animals, or landscapes haven’t reaped you in, let me fill you in on the food. The thing main Jamaica food we were told we had to try was the Jerk Chicken. “You cannot go to Jamaica and not try it.”  Spicey as heck, but more flavorful than a thanksgiving turkey! Aside from the Jerk Chicken, I tried curried goat, Soursop Juice, which isn’t actually sour, it’s just the name of the fruit. I even got to try coconut juice straight from a freshly chopped coconut. The gardiner was more than happy to show us his trick. 


My first time in Jamaica was for my sister’s wedding. As beautiful as it was, I didn’t get to explore as much of the island as I would have liked. Well even going back with friends this time, and experiencing even more of what Jamaica has to offer. I still did not get in half of what I want to see on this gorgeous island, so it’s without a doubt that I say, I will be back for a third time. I feel like even with the two times I have been there I have barely even scratched the surface of the beauty, that Jamaica really is.

Author: Toby Rose II

Bitten and infected by the travel bug. A retail manager by day, aTravel Agent and avid explorer by night. Always seeking new adventures, weather it be hiking on a mountain top, or fishing in the valley at the bottom. I strive to make the most of life, seizing every opportunity for new experiences I can. Life is too short not to make the most of everyday. Just beginning with my blog, so bare with me, but feel free to leave some questions or feedback!

Leave a comment